Updates from the Fellowship: Michaelmas 2020

Jul 15, 2020 | Fellows, Transformations (Issue 1)

We’re pleased to share the following news from the IAS alumni community.

Professor Lia Bryant (2019/20 Fellow)
Awarded Australian Research Council Grant as lead CI (Bryant, L and Wark, S (2021-2023) ‘Care in the Country: Post Parental Care for people with Intellectual Disabilities’  – $230,000. Additional industry grant award for 2020-2021 ‘Tailoring suicide Prevention to men in Farming in Victoria’ Department of Jobs and Precincts, Victoria – $92,000.

Dr Joanne Arciuli (2018/19 Fellow)
Appointed Dean of Research at Flinders University, Adelaide.

Professor Willard Bohn (2007/08 Fellow)
2018 book The Early Avant-Garde in Twentieth-Century Literature and Art (Routledge).

Professor Mary Carruthers (2010/11 Fellow)
Elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in April 2020.

Dr Nathan Citino (2014/15)
Awarded a Truman Library Institute Scholar’s Award (US $30,000) to support research for a new book project, The Forever Empire: the foundations and longevity of American power in the Middle East.

Professor John Dupré (2006/07 Fellow)
Elected an Honorary International Member of the American Academy of Arts and Science in Spring 2020.  In January 2021, he will take up the Presidency of the Philosophy of Science Association.

Professor Mikhail Epstein (2010/11 Fellow)
Two 2019 books published: The Phoenix of Philosophy: Russian thought of the late soviet period (1953-1991)( Bloomsbury Academic); and A Philosophy of the Possible: modalities in thought and culture (Brill).

Professor John Heil (2014/15 Fellow)
Awarded Australian-American Fulbright Fellow, Monash University February–June 2020.
Appointed Professor of Philosophy at Durham University, and Adjunct Research Professor at Monash University. Publication of Philosophy of Mind: a contemporary introduction (4th edition. Routledge, 2019).

Professor Stefan Helmreich (2009/10 Fellow)
2019MIT Press edited volume Being Material (with M.P Boucher, L Kinney, S Tibbits, R Uchill, and E Ziporyn).

Professor Zoltán Kövecses (2007/08 Fellow)
2020 book Extended Conceptual Metaphor Theory (Cambridge University Press).

Professor David Martin-Jones (2012/13 Fellow)
2019 book Cinema Against Doublethink: ethical encounters with the lost pasts of world history.

Professor Tim May (2015/16 Fellow)
September 2019 appointed a Professorial Research Fellow in the Faculty of Social Sciences and Department of Sociological Studies, University of Sheffield. His latest book publication, a fifth edition of Social Research: issues, methods and process (McGraw-Hill) is expected 2021.

Professor Tom Mole (2013/14)
Tom Mole’s book What the Victorians Made of Romanticism won the Saltire Award for Best Research Book 2018. 

Jonathon Porritt (2010/11 Fellow)
New book published July 2020, Hope in Hell: a decade to confront the climate emergency (Simon & Schuster UK)

Professor Julia Prest (2016/17 Fellow)
2019 awarded Chair of French and Caribbean Studies at St Andrews University.

Professor Michael Pryke (2007/08 Fellow)
Became the founding Head of School first for Politics, Philosophy, Economics, Development, and Geography (PPEDG), and then the School of Social Sciences and Global Studies (SSGS) at the Open University.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Join the Transformations mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from the IAS.

Blog archive

Related posts

Material Imagination

Material Imagination

Project lead, Margarita Staykova, reflects on the exciting potential of living materials, and how the very processes of life – emergence, adaptation, resilience and death – can be used to develop new materials.